Judy Pettitt, Barbara Gibson, Barbara Nicholson (nee Kozak), Teresa White (nee Kozak), Mavis McShane, Julie Gorton (nee Clayton), Tracey Wheeler and Sandra Brentnall

25 Years of the Hall of Fame, Part Five

2021 marks the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Football Hall of Fame Western Australia. In celebration of this milestone, we dig back into the archives to recognise the people and events that have shaped and influenced the Hall of Fame. Today it’s the four-year stretch commencing December 2006 that we bring into focus…

It has long been the Hall of Fames’ ambition to establish a permanent museum to showcase the history of the game in Western Australia. In December 2006, a delegation led by chairman Louis Prospero stated their case to representatives of the State Government, and although a museum did not eventuate it nonetheless remains an objective of the Committee to this day.

That same month the second Ashes football match was held at Perth Oval. Boasting the considerable talents of Jonathon Cook, Julian Burt and Ashley Morrison, amongst others, the Hall of Fame/WA Sporting Media combination triumphed 6-4 over the England Cricket Media.

In October 2007, the Hall of Fame celebrated the 40th anniversary of the State teams’ appearance at Malaysia’s Merdeka Cup and the 30th anniversary of the State women’s tour of Asia. The 1967 men’s team was the first Australian representative team to compete in an Asian tournament, and the 1977 women’s team was the first Australian women’s representative side to tour Asia.

The 60th anniversary of WA’s historic win at the 1948 Southern States Carnival was commemorated as part of the fourth Hall of Fame induction ceremony in July 2008. A special presentation was made to Bob Cherry, one of the last surviving players from the successful 1948 State team.

When it came to the inductees, eleven players were welcomed into the Hall of Champions. This list included Socceroos Alistair Edwards and Shaun Murphy, long-time Matildas goalkeeper Tracey Wheeler, inaugural Perth Glory captain Gareth Naven and two-time Gold Medal winner Norrie Sutton.

The occasion saw the introduction of a new category – the Hall of Merit for Players, which recognises the achievements of special players who enjoyed considerable success and made an outstanding contribution to the game in WA. The seven inaugural entrants included Harry Boys, Alex Senjuschenko and Rene De Koning.

The Hall of Recognition was expanded by eleven coaches, administrators and media personalities, amongst them coaches Peter Rickers and Graham Normanton, pioneer administrator Alex McDowell and journalist David Andrews. By the end of the night the Hall of Fame boasted 127 inductees.

Inducted into the Football Hall of Fame WA in 2008 were –

Hall of Champions: Ronnie Campbell, Luciana Di Ienno (nee Colangelo), Alistair Edwards, Tommy Maras, Shaun Murphy, Craig Naven, Gareth Naven, Norrie Sutton, Tracey Wheeler, Teresa White (nee Kozak), Robert Zabica

Hall of Merit for Players: Harry Boys, Geoff Cole, Rene de Koning, David Kamasz, Frank Reid, Dave Roxby and Alex Senjuschenko

Hall of Recognition: David Andrews, Malcolm Brown, Stuart Kamasz, Roger Males, Alex McDowall, Graham Normanton, Rita Richardson, Peter Rickers, Alan Robertson, David Schrandt and Eric Thomas

By now there was a distinct all-star flavour to the Hall of Fame Committee which boasted Louis Prospero, John O’Connell, Bob Brown, Barbara Gibson, Peter Dimopoulos, Richard Kreider and Mel Moffat. Complimenting this core group across the preceding five years were Roger Dale and Craig Hollingsworth.

To coincide with the 2010 World Cup Finals, the Hall of Fame hosted a week-long exhibition under the World Cup Wonders banner at the Perth Town Hall. In December of that year the England Cricket Media triumphed 4-2 over the Hall of Fame/WA Sporting Media combination in the third Ashes football match at Perth Oval.

2010 World Cup Wonders Poster Signed
Signed poster from the World Cup Wonders exhibition of 2010

Feature image: Judy Pettitt, Barbara Gibson, Barbara Nicholson (nee Kozak), Teresa White (nee Kozak), Mavis McShane, Julie Gorton (nee Clayton), Tracey Wheeler and Sandra Brentnall enjoying the World Cup Wonders exhibition

Share this post