2016 Football Hall of Fame WA Committee

25 Years of the Hall of Fame, Part Seven

2021 marks the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Football Hall of Fame Western Australia. In celebration of this milestone, we dig back into the archives to recognise the people and events that have shaped and influenced the Hall of Fame. Today we consider the period spanning the 2016 induction ceremony through to the modern day…

A record of over 430 attendees were attracted to the sixth Hall of Fame induction ceremony in November 2016. The Committee pulled out all the stops for what was also the Hall of Fame’s 20th Anniversary by bringing in guest speakers Bernd Stange, from Germany, and Les Murray, from Sydney.

Alan Vest was elevated to the Hall of Legends, making him the first coach to be proclaimed a Legend. The Hall of Champions welcomed eight newcomers with Socceroos defender Chris Coyne, Perth Glory stalwart Jamie Harnwell and goalkeeping brothers in arms Jason and Michael Petkovic amongst that number.

The thirteen added to the Hall of Merit for Players included defensive pair Aldo Trinca and Alan Armstrong plus two-time Golden Boot recipients John Hunter and Keven Elliott. Mickey Brennan, Steve Muldoon, Angelo Nardi, Bob Brown and Janette Spencer were amongst ten individuals welcomed into the Hall of Recognition.

Inducted into the Football Hall of Fame WA in 2016 were –

Hall of Legends: Alan Vest

Hall of Champions: Anthony Carbone, Chris Coyne, Jamie Harnwell, Paul McVittie, Jason Petkovic, Michael Petkovic, Andy Petterson and Paul Strudwick

Hall of Merit for Players: Alan Armstrong, Steve Bourne, Tommy Carruthers, Alex Cummings, Keven Elliott, John Hunter, Peter Johnson, Willie Kelly, Robert Lee, Bruno Marocchi, Michele Matthews, Dylan Tombides and Aldo Trinca

Hall of Recognition: Mickey Brennan, Bob Brown, John Davies, Debbie Farrell, Steve Hawkins, Helen Lumley, Steve Muldoon, Angelo Nardi, Janette Spencer and Mike Tetlow

View the 2016 induction highlights video

The Hall of Fame celebrated its 21st birthday with a low-key event at Dorrien Gardens in December 2017. A trio of milestone State team events were also recognised, namely the 1967 friendly with Manchester United, the ground breaking 1967 tour of Asia and 1996’s international against Indonesia.

The fifth Ashes football match took place earlier that same day with the England Media out-shooting the Hall of Fame/WA Sporting Media combination 3-2 from the penalty spot, after the game was tied at 3-3 at the end of regulation time. The win gives England a 3-2 upper hand over the Auld Enemy.

2019 Football Hall of Fame WA Committee
The 2019 Committee: Alex Vagliviello, Eddie Lennie, Penny Hoath, Louis Prospero, Elizabeth Re, Mel Moffat, Keith Brier

The Hall of Fame entered a new era in November 2019 by becoming an Incorporated body. Along with the registration of a Constitution that outlines the rules and regulations of the association, a new logo featuring a black swan, an old football and a laurel wreath was adopted.

A low-key launch event was held at Dorrien Gardens which included presentations to a trio of record-setters.   Special Merit Awards were presented to former Australian team captain Ron Adair, five-time Gold Medal winner Theo Paap and WA’s first World Cup Finals referee Eddie Lennie.

Elizabeth Re, the daughter of foundation Committee member Julius Re, was voted President of the Executive Committee in August 2020, replacing Louis Prospero after 18 years in the role. The Committee has since grown and at the current time features Re, Penelope Hoath, Paul McVittie, Vince Matassa, Alf De Bono and Brett Klucznik.

Referee Simon Hicks follows in the footsteps of Russell Goodrick, Peter Hugg and Eddie Lennie as the Committees’ non-voting Football West representative. Between 2016 and 2020 Tom MacKay, George Papaliaris, Roger Males, John O’Connell, Jack Garber, Keith Brier, Mel Moffat, Louis Propero, Alex Vagliviello and Richard Kreider all served on the Committee.

Across its’ 25 years the Hall of Fame has honoured 186 players, referees, coaches, administrators, journalists, sponsors and medics, a number that is far in excess of any other Hall of Fame in Australia. And it is still growing!

Football Hall Of Fame WA Logo

Feature image: The 2019 Hall of Fame committee George Papaliaris, Louis Prospero, Julian Burt (Patron), John O’Connell, Mel Moffat, Keith Brier, Roger Males and Richard Kreider

Share this post