Perth Glory salutes the 2016 Hall of Fame inductees

A Glorious tribute to the 2016 inductees

PERTH Glory paid tribute to the 2016 Football Hall of Fame WA inductees at the A-League game against Newcastle Jets at nib stadium on December 10.
Several of the inductees were special guests of the Glory at the match – and were saluted by the crowd when they marched round the ground at half-time.

Bernd Strange 2

“It was very special, the crowd responded really well and lots of children came running down to the perimeter and exchanged high fives with us,” said Bob Brown, who was inducted into the Hall of Recognition at the 20th anniversary Gala Dinner-Induction Ceremony at Crown Perth on November 26.
“I think all the inductees who attended were very honoured and grateful to the Glory for arranging this tribute.”
Some of the inductees came from rural areas to take part in the ceremony.
Alan Armstrong, who was inducted into the Hall of Merit for Players, travelled from Bunbury, while Helen Lumley, who was inducted into the Hall of Recognition last month, motored down from Geraldton.
Jim Tombides, who accepted a posthumous Hall of Merit award made to his late son Dylan Tombides at the November celebration, was among those saluted by the Glory crowd, as was Owen Davies, whose late father John Davies was posthumously inducted into the Hall of Recognition.
Former Glory players Jason Petkovic and Andy Petterson, who were inducted into the Hall of Champions, also joined in the celebrations.
Other inductees who were generously applauded were Robert Lee, Tommy Carruthers, Aldo Trinca, Willie Kelly, John Hunter, Peter Johnston, Michele Matthews (all newcomers to the Hall of Merit) and Mike Tetlow (Hall of Recognition).
Football Hall of Fame WA chairman Louis Prospero said: “I wish to thank Perth Glory on behalf of our Committee and inductees for recognising the importance of the history of our football code.
“The inductees who participated in the half-time parade thoroughly enjoyed it, as the fans had given them generous applause from the time that entered the field until they left.
“Some drove from Geraldton and Bunbury to be there and there was a lot of positive feedback.”
Apart from Prospero, other Football Hall of Fame Committee members who gathered for the special event were John O’Connell, Keith Brier and George Papaliaris. Former Glory coach Bernd Stange, who had been a special guest speaker at the 20th anniversary event, brought back great memories when he tossed the coin at the start of the game.

PIC ONE: The proud inductees and Hall of Fame Committee members line up at nib stadium. PIC TWO: Bernd Stange and some young Glory fans before the kick-off.

Share this post