Elizabeth Re and Alf Debono

Alf Debono Joins the Committee

The Football Hall of Fame Western Australia is pleased to confirm the appointment of Alf Debono to the Executive Committee. A former State representative, Alf is looking forward to being part of the not-for-profit volunteer organisation whose aim it is to promote, preserve and protect the history of the game in WA.

“It is such an honour to be joining the Hall of Fame management team,” said Alf, who was inducted into the Hall of Merit for Players in 2012. “I’ve been part of our game for the better part of six decades and I feel now is the right time for me to contribute to linking the game’s past with the present and, ultimately, the future.”

“The committee has a great mix of people who are each passionate about recognising and honouring the achievements of the past through a number of exciting projects. It’s difficult not to be inspired by the direction the Hall of Fame is heading and I’m looking forward to working with my fellow committee members to build on the Hall of Fame’s already impressive list of achievements.”

Malta-born Alf emigrated to Western Australia in 1964 and initially made his mark as a junior with Azzurri. The talented midfielder celebrated his 16th birthday with is senior State debut and honoured the occasion with a goal in the 1967 friendly against the New Zealand national team. He went on to make thirteen appearances in the gold and black.

At club level, Azzurri, Cracovia, Bayswater City, Morley Windmills, East Fremantle Tricolore and Floreat Athena all benefitted from Alf’s skill, poise and positional sense. Three First Division championships came his way across a 20-year playing career along with five Night Series titles, two D’Orsogna Cups and one Top Four Cup.

On hanging up his playing boots, Alf transitioned into coaching with spells at the helm of Floreat, Inglewood Kiev and Balcatta. He oversaw the Australian Schoolgirls side on their tour of the United Kingdom and Ireland in 1991 and for the past decade has been coach of the State Schoolboys team.

The Executive Committee of the Football Hall of Fame WA is Elizabeth Re (President), Penny Tanner (Secretary), Paul McVittie (Treasurer), Vince Matassa, Alf Debono and Brett Klucznik.

Share this post