2007 Collete Mccallum Celebrates Scoring For Australia Vs Canada

Collette Gardiner Among Six Inductees into Football Australia Hall of Fame

Matildas great Collette Gardiner (nee McCallum) has been recognised for her standout contribution to Australian football as one of six inductees into Football Australia’s Hall of Fame. Gardiner was a Matildas midfield mainstay for 11 years and is regarded as one of Australia’s finest footballers of all-time.

Gardiner was inducted prior to the Matilda’s 4-0 friendly defeat of Sweden yesterday. Also welcomed into Football Australia’s Hall of Fame were fellow Matilda Moya Dodd, former Socceroos’ coach Ange Postecoglou, players’ union pioneer Brendan Schwab, Tasmanian media personality Walter Pless and former Socceroo Ted Smith.

Born in Scotland, Gardiner played an integral role in the Matildas midfield between 2005 and 2015. She initially made her mark at youth level, featuring at two Under-20 World Cups and, following the 2006 tournament, was named in the FIFA All-Star squad.

At senior international level, Gardiner played 81 games and scored 13 goals. She started every game of Australia’s 2007 and 2011 Women’s World Cup finals campaigns and was a key part of the engine room when the Matildas lifted the AFC Women’s Asian Cup in 2010.

“The Football Australia Hall of Fame is the highest honour bestowed upon players and participants who have served the game – either on or off the field – with distinction, with no better demonstration of this than our Class of 2022,” said Chris Nikou, Football Australia Chair in announcing the new inductees.

“These six highly regarded figures of the Australian football community have not only made significant contributions at a local and national level but in the case of Moya (Dodd), Ange (Postecoglou), and Brendan (Schwab), their impact and influence has been felt on the global stage.”

“With Australia to co-host the FIFA Women’s World Cup next year, it’s timely that one of Australia’s greatest female footballers in Collette Gardiner is acknowledged for her pioneering feats, along with former Socceroo Ted Smith who continues to play an important role with our men’s national team, and Walter Press for his unwavering dedication to the promotion of football in Tasmania.”

Since the initial Football Australia Hall of Fame induction of 84 players and participants in 1999, more than 250 male and female players, coaches, referees, administrators, and media representatives have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to our game.

View the Football Australia‘s release announcing their six new Hall of Fame inductees.

Share this post