Executive Committee

introducing those behind the scene…

The Football Hall of Fame Western Australia is managed by a five-person Executive Committee. Six sub-committees dealing with Communications, Events, Heritage, Legal, Memberships and Sponsorships feed into the Executive.

2021 Football Hall of Fame WA Committee

Simon Hicks (President)

Simon’s involvement stems back to November 2020 when he accepted the role of Football West liaison to the Football Hall of Fame WA.
Oldham-born Simon is the General Manager of National Premier Leagues WA club Perth RedStar. Prior to that he was a Football West Referee, Assessor and Instructor, officiating in two NPL WA Men’s Grand Finals and two Men’s State Cup Finals while also serving four years as Referee Coordinator. Simon’s administrative background includes a spell with the Western Australian Cricket Association as their Community Junior Cricket Administrator.
Simon joined the Executive Committee in November 2021 and operates within our Communications portfolio.

Penny Tanner (Secretary)

Penny has made a significant contribution to football in Western Australia across the past 35 years. During that time she has served the women’s game as player, coach, administrator, committee member and, since 1998, broadcaster with Radio Fremantle.

Medina-born Penny came to the game late but by the age of 18 was representing Western Australia at senior level. She donned the black and gold at eleven consecutive national championships – captaining the team at two of those tournaments – and in 1995 was selected for the Australia ‘B’ team.

Away from the field of play, Penny has chaired the Women’s Standing Committee and spent time on the Coaches Standing Committee. Her contributions have been recognised with the Prime Ministerial Women’s Sport Award (1992) and Life Membership of Football West (2013).

Penny joined the Football Hall of Fame WA team in April 2019 and operates within our Legal and Heritage portfolios.

Brett Klucznik (Treasurer)

Brett has filled many roles with a variety of football outlets during the past 25-plus years, including writer, photographer, researcher, website administrator/developer and social media administrator.

Born in Subiaco, Brett was a match day photographer with Perth Glory between 1997 and 2004 while also writing for the club website and programme. From 2000 onward he has contributed significantly to the popularity and development of footballwa.net

Brett has been administrator of the ‘WA NPL & State League’ and ‘WA Lost Football’ facebook pages since 2013. During that time he ran Inglewood United’s website and social media platforms for five years, and has an on-going role in researching that clubs’ history.

Brett joined the Football Hall of Fame WA team in October 2019 and operates within our Heritage and Communications portfolios.

John O’Connell

Louis Prospero

The Executive Committee is grateful for the significant contributions of former Football Hall of Fame WA committee members John O’Connell (1996-2018), Bob Brown (1996-2014), Frank Miller (1996), Julius Re (1996), Alan Beale (1996), David Andrews (1996-2006), Louis Prospero (2002-2020), Barbara Gibson (2002-2015), Peter Dimopolous (2002-2015), Mel Moffat (2002-2020), Richard Kreider (2002-2020), Russell Whitson (2002-2008), Roger Dale (2003), Craig Hollingsworth (2004), Russell Goodrick* (2005-2008), Peter Hugg* (2010-2016), Eddie Lennie* (2010-2016, 2018-2020), Roger Males (2013-2018), Barry Rogers (2014-2016), David Mortimer (2014-2015), Sandra Brentnall (2014-2015), Keith Brier (2015-2020), George Papaliaris (2016-2017), Tom Mackay* (2016), Alex Novatsis* (2017), Alex Vagliviello (2018-2020), Jack Garber (2018-2019), Alf Debono (2021-2022), Alyce Higgins* (2021-2022), Paul McVittie (2021-2023), Vince Matassa (2021-2023) and Elizabeth Re (2018-2023).

* indicates a non-voting secondee to the committee