Jason Petkovic, James Curtis and Jamie Harnwell

Glory members salute the Hall of Fame inductees

FIVE members of the Football Hall of Fame WA have been included in Perth Glory’s Ultimate X1 to celebrate the club’s 20th anniversary.
The five are goalkeeper Jason Petkovic, defenders Jamie Harnwell and Scott Miller, midfielder Gareth Naven and the Glory’s all-time top goalscorer Bobby Despotovski.

The Ultimate X1 was voted by club members and the line-up was revealed at the Glory’s Most Glorious Players Award night held at the Perth Convention Centre on May 13.
The star-studded best-ever selection of the fans was:
Jason Petkovic; Josh Risdon, Jamie Harnwell, Andy Todd, Scott Miller;
Ivan Ergic, Gareth Naven, Jacob Burns, Diego Castro;
Damian Mori, Bobby Despotovski.
Subs: Danny Vukovic, Michael Thwaite, Matt Horsby, Troy Halpin, Andy Keogh.
The Ultimate coach: Mich D’Avray.
Glory joined the old National Soccer League in 1996 and won two NSL titles, in 2003 and 2004.
Petkovic, who was inducted into the Hall of Champions in 2016, was the Glory’s goalkeeper in both those NSL championship triumphs. He is now a Director of Football West.
Despotovski (inducted into the Hall of Champions in 2012) was also in the squad for those NSL successes. He played 241 games and scored 113 goals. Now in charge of the Glory’s women’s team, he was named the W-League coach of the year for 2016-17.
Centre-half Harnwell, who was inducted into the Hall of Champions in 2016, was the Glory’s inaugural captain when the club entered the A-League in 2005-6. He played 256 games for the club. Harnwell is now Head of Development with Football West.
Naven was the Glory’s initial captain in the NSL and turned out 143 times. He was inducted into the Hall of Champions in 2008. He is now Youth Team coach with Melbourne Victory.
Miller, along with Naven, was a member of the Glory’s squad from its NSL debut in 1996 and in all turned out 227 times for the club. He was inducted into the Hall of Champions in 2012 and is currently head coach with Cockburn City.
Glory chief executive Peter Filopoulos said the naming of the Ultimate X1 was one of the highlights of the evening at the MGP Awards and that each player would receive a commemorative medal.

**Here’s an interesting comparison. The Glory conducted an Online Poll in 2011 to select the Most Glorious 15 to mark the club’s 15th year in national competition. The years covered were 1996 to 2011.
And many who were given the nod after 15 years made it into the Ultimate X1. One even improved. Ivan Ergic was only a sub in the Glorious 15, but was elevated to a starting berth for the Ultimate choice.
The Most Glorious 15 was:
Jason Petkovic; Scott Neville, Andy Todd, Jamie Harnwell, Scott Miller; Matt Horsley, Gareth Naven, Edgar Junior, Con Boutsianis; Bobby Despotovski, Damian Mori. Subs: Ivan Ergic, Vas Kalogeracos, Vinko Buljubasic, Nikita Rukavytsya.

PIC ONE: From left – Jason Petkovic, Football West CEO James Curtis, Jamie Harnwell at the Glory’s MGP Awards. PIC TWO: Perth Glory players celebrate after winning the NSL crown in 2004. PIC THREE: The Ultimate X1 line-up.

Share this post