Mark Birighitti

Mark Birighitti Named the A-Leagues’ Top Goalkeeper

For the second year in succession, Central Coast Mariners’ Mark Birighitti has been named the A-League Goalkeeper of the Year. The 31-year old shared the award last season with Andrew Redmayne, but this year he stands alone as the best in the competition.

Mark was further honoured with a place in the Professional Footballers Australia 2021/22 Team of the Season. The former ECU Joondalup and Perth SC junior played 25 games and kept nine clean sheets this season for the Mariners, who were fifth on conclusion of the home and away series.

“What an honor to be included in the @thepfa @aleagues team of the year and to top it off, winning the golden glove. Big thanks to my family, teammates and coaching staff and everyone involved at @ccmariners for your effort,” Mark said via social media.

Mark continues the proud tradition of West Australian goalkeepers shining on the national stage. Robbie Zabica (1991/92), Jason Petkovic (1996/97, 1997/98, 2003/04) and Michael Petkovic (1998/99, 2000/01, 2001/02) previously won the Goalkeeper of the Year while Tony Franken collected the national league’s Under-21 Player of the Year from between the posts in 1984.

Mark Birighitti

Share this post