2021 04 Womens World Cup

Perth Selected as Women’s World Cup City

Perth has been named amongst nine host cities for the 2023 Women’s World Cup. With the finals tournament little over two years away, FIFA today made the announcement that five Australian cities and four in New Zealand will host games at the 32-team event which is set to attract a worldwide audience of over one billion people.

The five-week tournament will kick-off in July 2023 at Eden Park in Auckland and conclude at Sydney’s Olympic stadium in August 2023. The other cities which will host games are Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide in Australia along with Auckland, Dunedin, Hamilton and Wellington in New Zealand.

Football West chief executive James Curtis said the decision to play part of the Women’s World Cup at Perth Rectangular Stadium (aka HBF Park) was momentous for football in the state. “This is a special day and a significant milestone for football in Western Australia,” Curtis said.

2021 04 Perth Oval
Perth Glory’s home of HBF Park will be known as Perth Rectangular Stadium for the 2023 Women’s World Cup

“We saw last year how big a deal the Women’s World Cup was when Australia and New Zealand were announced as the host countries, and we were desperate for Perth to be included. Western Australia has missed out in the past, and we wanted to make sure we didn’t miss out again.”

“This is one of the biggest sporting events in the world and it will showcase the city of Perth like nothing else. We want this to inspire the next generation of female and male players. They can now get to see superstars like our own Sam Kerr playing on the biggest stage right here.”

The Women’s World Cup, the ninth edition of the tournament, will be the first to feature 32 teams nations. Both the Matildas and Football Ferns will qualify automatically, representing the host nations. The full match schedule will be announced later this year with Australia and New Zealand each hosting one semi-final.

The host cities and stadiums for the 2023 Women’s World Cup are –

  • Adelaide – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland – Eden Park
  • Brisbane – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth – Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington – Wellington Stadium

Share this post