1992 Young Socceroos team

Perth stars set to be honoured

WHAT has been a memorable year for Perth Soccer Club will be capped off when many former players are inducted into the Football Hall of Fame WA at the 20th anniversary Gala Dinner/Induction Night at Crown Perth on November 26.
Former Socceroos international Chris Coyne, who had a spell with Perth as a teenager and was transferred from the club to West Ham for a fee of over $300,000 in 1996, will be inducted into the Hall of Champions.
Chris went on to play seven times for the Socceroos and had a spell with Perth Glory towards the end of his playing career. He has successfully turned to coaching and has led Bayswater to numerous titles in the last few years.
Tony Carbone, who made world history when he scored the first international Golden Goal when playing for the Young Socceroos in the World Youth Cup in 1993, will also be inducted into the Hall of Champions.
Carbone made many telling contributions for Perth from midfield before being transferred, again for a big fee, to Nottingham Forest. He later returned to WA and had a spell with Perth Glory.

Booby In Perthj

Paul Strudwick, another who will be inducted into the Hall of Champions, won a league title and a cup with Perth SC. He was also the leading goalscorer for Perth Kangaroos when they won the Singapore League title and played 68 games for Perth Glory.
A couple of Perth Azzurri legends, Bruno Marocchi and Aldo Trinca, will be inducted into the Hall of Merit for Players.
Bruno, the oldest of the famous Marocchi brothers to represent the club, won five league titles with Azzurri and four D’Orsogna Cups. He also played 26 times for the State team. (His brother Gary was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1996 and is also in the Hall of Legends).
Aldo, who is still involved in coaching and management with Perth SC, won three league titles with Azzurri and also the D’Orsogna Cup. He played 16 times for WA and was named in the Century of Champions in 2004.
He said that one of the highlights of his career was when he played alongside England World Cup legend Bobby Charlton, who had a guest spell with Perth Azzurri in 1980.
Other former Azzurri players who will be inducted into the Hall of Merit for Players are Tommy Carruthers, who won numerous league titles and cups with the club, and Willie Kelly, who was in the famous Azzurri side that went through the season unbeaten in 1981.
The late John Davies (who died in 2015) was coach of Azzurri for two years and will be posthumously inducted into the Hall of Recognition. The award will be accepted by his son Owen and many of John’s former colleagues will be there on the night to honour his memory.
Apart from the inductions at the Gala Dinner, one of the highlights of the night will be the appearance of former Perth Glory coach Bernd Stange and SBS football icon Les Murray as Special Guest Speakers.
The public is welcome to attend the function. Tickets cost $180, which includes a three-course dinner, all drinks and entertainment.
Tickets can be purchased by emailing: admin@footballhalloffamewa.com.au
PIC ONE: Tony Carbone (botom right) in the Young Socceroos team line-up. PIC TWO: Aldo Trinca poses with Bobby Charlton.  

Share this post