Roger Lefort, Paul Afkos, Nick Tana, Peter Filopoulos and Tony Sage


WA’S LEADING football historian, Richard Kreider, snapped up a bit of history at nib stadium on Saturday, October 8.
To celebrate Perth Glory’s 20th anniversary since being admitted to Australia’s national football family, the club’s former owners and current owner – plus chief executives – got together.
It was a rare photo opportunity and Kreider was there to capture the historic moment before the start of the Glory’s season-opening A-League game against Central Coast Mariners.
Nick Tana, who in partnership with Paul Afkos established the Glory in 1995 and oversaw the club’s debut in the old National Soccer League on October 13, 1996, proudly posed with a purple scarf round his neck.
Although majority shareholder Tana and Afkos did not always see eye to eye during their tenure on the Glory board (Afkos was deputy chairman until 2003 and Tana chairman until 2006), the pair were in jovial mood as they played important roles in the celebrations.
Also in the history-making line-up was Roger Lefort, the club’s first general manager.
And the Glory power play was brought up to date with the inclusion of current owner, Tony Sage, who has been in charge of the club (initially in partnership with two others) since the 2007-08 season.
The club’s current CEO, Peter Filopoulos, completed the line-up.
The Glory’s first coach, Gary Marocchi, took part in the pre-match proceedings as did the club’s first assistant coach Mickey Brennan and trainer Barry Tate.
Some of the club’s inaugural players, including Peter Vukmirovic, Dale Wingell, Mark Wingell, Doug Ithier, Alan Mackenzie, Vlad Beretovac, Tommy Maras, Bobby Despotovski, Robbie Zabica and Vas Kalogeracos, were paraded before the start of the anniversary celebrations.
Said Kreider of his historic snap: “It was a great occasion and memorable in that they all came together with a common connection – their love of football.
“It’s certainly a moment I will cherish and the photo takes pride of place in my archives.”

To view the footage of the wonderful memories of the evening on 8th October 2016 click here. Enjoy

PICTURED (from left): Roger Lefort, Paul Afkos, Nick Tana, Peter Filopoulos, Tony Sage.
Image courtesy of Richard Kreider.

Share this post