Alex Vagliviello

Welcome to Alex Vagliviello

FORMER Perth Azzurri player, State junior representative and leading amateur administrator Alex Vagliviello has been appointed a Committee member of the Football Hall of Fame WA.
HoF Committee chairman Louis Prospero said: “We welcome Alex on board. He will be a great asset to the Committee with his knowledge of many aspects of the game in WA.
“Like all other Committee members, Alex is committed to helping preserve the history of the game in Western Australia – and he is particularly passionate about helping us in our quest to establish a Football Museum in WA.”
Vagliviello, who was co-opted onto the Committee on May 24, said he was honoured to be a part of the Hall of Fame Committee and was looking forward to the challenges that lie ahead.
“I have a clear understanding of the state of the game in WA and would say I would know most of the personalities now involved in the administration of the game and most Committee members of NPL clubs,” he said.
Vagliviello started playing the game at age seven (1965) with Tuart Hill Soccer Club and, at age 14, moved to Perth Azzurri and played with the U/16 Team. He was an Azzurri from 1972 until 1978.
In 1974 he was a member of the State U/16 Junior Team that played against the U/15 English Schoolboys Team that toured Australia that year.
From 1978 to 1980 he played with various teams until ending up at Fremantle Benfica where he was for over three years before deciding to go and play in the Amateur Leagues.
“I then moved into the administration side of the game and in the late 80’s was involved with PASSA and then WASSA on the Executive Committee, at the time that SAWA was founded,” he said.
“Whilst at WASSA I compered the Amateur Soccer Hour on station 6NR along with Peter Vlahos, John O’Connell and Tony Rapanaro.
“In 1992 I was President of East Fremantle Tricolore and Chairperson of the Finance Committee at Perth Italia as well as being on the Perth Italia Board along with Sam Piantadosi.
“When Football West was Incorporated I was nominated Chair of the Interim Amateur Standing Committee.”
Apart from the playing and administrative side of the game, Alex also has a coaching string to his bow.
He said: “Over the last 15 years I’ve been involved in coaching both Junior and Amateur Senior teams.”
The Football Hall of Fame WA is a not-for-profit organisation and the Committee (who include a former NSL referee, players, administrators, historians and journalists) is made up entirely of volunteers whose vision it is to maintain and preserve the history of the game in Western Australia. The organisation is fully endorsed by Football West.
The Committee now comprises: Louis Prospero JP (Chairman), Richard Kreider, Elizabeth Re, Keith Brier, Alex Vagliviello, Mel Moffat and Julian Burt JP (Patron).

PICTURED: Louis Prospero (left) welcomes Alex Vagliviello to the Committee

Share this post