1996 Inglewood Kiev squad

When the Falcons swooped for a rare treat…

IT HAS been a huge year of anniversaries…Perth Glory, Football West and the Football Hall of Fame all celebrating milestones…but one which has received scant attention is the 20th anniversary of Inglewood’s only State League championship success.
The club’s historian, Brett Klucznik, writes: “In a sensational finish to the 1996 State League season, Inglewood Falcons (as they were then known) scored twice in the closing minutes of the campaign to steal a 2-1 victory – and the championship – from neighbouring Bayswater Panthers.
Heading into the final round of the season it was Bayswater that sat top of the table, requiring only a draw to lift the trophy.
And it looked as though it was going to be Bayswater’s day when Rene de Koning converted an 81st minute penalty awarded for Tony Hall’s foul on Kevin Molyneux.
But in the third minute of stoppage time 20-year old substitute Scott Daley hooked in the equaliser in a goalmouth scramble to renew Inglewood hopes.
Three minutes later fellow substitute Ian Ballantyne, at 38 the oldest player on the park, brilliantly headed in Martin Woodall’s free-kick to decide the game.

Kiev Usc

The win enabled Inglewood to finish football’s centenary season on 41 points, one more than Stirling Macedonia and two clear of Bayswater.
Coach Paul Wormley said Inglewood deserved to win after forcing the pace for most of the game and flashing a stream of shots just wide of the target in a tense encounter watched by almost 2,000 spectators.
Inglewood’s history-making squad featured Ron Moore, Lee Crosby, Paul Di Carlo, Martin Woodall, Ric Antunes, Tony Hall, Lou Collova, Norrie Sutton, Ian Ballantyne, John Hunter, Gavin Tait, Scott Daley, Denis Muzafercvic, Gareth Healey, Kevin Smith, James Taylor and player-coach Paul Wormley.”
Klucznik, who edits the Inglewood Newsletter called “Little Stories”, is looking for assistance from the footballing public in identifying players and officials from one of Inglewood’s female teams.
The photograph reprinted here is believed to have been taken during the 1970s.
If you do recognise anyone – or if you played women’s football at Inglewood at any time – please contact Brett Klucznik on 0407 391 015 or bklucznik@iprimus.com.au
Klucznik, meanwhile, is into the third year of the club’s History Project.
The focus has predominantly been on the foundation of Kiev SC and its rise to the upper echelons of West Australian football, that is, 1951 to 1969.
Regular visits to the J.S. Battye Library of West Australian History have brought together a collection of close to 500 newspaper clippings which reference the Club.
Personal interviews with former players, officials and supporters have amounted to excess of 25-hours of recorded memories and recollections.
Klucznik said: “Their generosity has extended to permitting me to copy rare and much-cherished photographs from their Kiev days, and offers for the loan of memorabilia for a proposed museum display at the Club.”
*The Inglewood club had further reason for celebration at the Football Hall of Fame WA sixth induction night on November 26. Seven inductees have either coaching or playing links with the club – Alan Vest, John Davies, Paul Strudwick, Alan Armstrong, Alex Cummings, John Hunter and Robert Lee.

PIC ONE: Inglewood’s 1996 title winning squad with officials. PIC TWO: Who are they?

Share this post